NTU to recognize students, staff in tomorrow’s ceremony

By Shabana Begum

More than 20 faculty members will receive the Nanyang Education Award on Thursday (16 Mar) at the Nanyang Awards Ceremony, in recognition of their effective teaching methods and concern for their students’ learning.

The Nanyang Education Award, which has been given out for the past 22 years, is the highest honour conferred by the University to academic staff.

“The Nanyang Education Awards are especially meaningful because many of our professors and faculty members have shown exceptional commitment and made a real difference for students throughout the year and this is the time that we come together to thank them publicly,” said Associate Professor Kwok Kian Woon, Associate Provost (Student Life).

Students and staff members will also receive Nanyang Awards.

The ceremony is one of three highlights at Celebrate NTU! tomorrow, an annual event to celebrate the University’s achievements in 2016.

A panel discussion will be held at Tan Chin Tuan Lecture Theatre from 10.30am to 11.45am, where NTU faculty members and students can discuss academic life.

In the afternoon, the Nanyang Awards Ceremony will be held from 2.30pm to 4.30pm at the Nanyang Auditorium.

NTU President Professor Bertil Andersson will deliver the President’s State of the University Address before presenting the awards.

To wrap up the day, a closing party featuring student performances by NTU residential hall bands will be held at the Quad from 4.30pm onwards.

To register for any of the events, visit http://www.ntu.edu.sg/events/events/Pages/Celebrate-NTU.aspx